By Nomqhele Dube:

IMG-20130413-WA003

It’s no secret that some young women struggle to assert themselves with confidence especially during the notoriously self-esteem busting teenage years. I have defied this norm and I boast of extra-special qualities that no-one else has. It doesn’t matter what age you are or what circumstances you might be in, you are special and you still have something meaningful and unique to offer through your life. When everything seems to be unfair and when all that you do is not appreciated, I will take your hand, wipe away your tears, take you for a walk and remind you how special you are.

Behold, for I am a special young woman. Can you see the beauty I create, just by being me?. I have a wonderful collection of magical, polished and raw talents. I know things that no one else knows. I am good at things that no one else does better than me. I am beautiful in my own way as one can put it “fearfully and wonderfully” made but in my own unique, special way.

My curves are one of a kind. My angled nose makes me recognizable from a distance. My freckles are constellations that even the sky can’t match. My sweet awkwardness makes me luxurious and invaluable. My excitement is like fuel to the worlds’ engine. I have a unique wisdom that goes far into the future and I don’t have to compare myself to anyone because no-one is in the same league as mine.

My ability to speak confidently contrasts sharply with the many young women who still find it difficult to speak their mind. As for my magnificence it’s like a secret language. My life story is like a vintage edition of my favorite book in a dusty second hand book store and that’s what makes me special as a young woman…

