GEDSC DIGITAL CAMERA
My name is Ashel Dube and I am a young woman aged 17. I live in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe and I am a proud African young woman.

What kind of world do I want to leave for my children?
I will take it from the kind of world I live in now. It is a world I can’t say if given the opportunity I would re-live. It is a world I can’t say if it was on fire I would save it from the fire. So many things have gone wrong, children don’t know who they are or where they come from because they are too busy denying their own identity just to ‘fit in’. They now live for the moment because life and its ‘poison’ are better than actually preparing for the future.

So what kind of world do I want to leave for my children? Is it this world? No, I want to leave a world where my children are able to be themselves without having to change anything about their looks, behavior or likes for them to be ‘well liked’. A world where my children know that where they are going is what matters rather than where they come from. I want to leave a world where their bigger focus is on the self, the spiritual self that drives not the flesh but the soul. A world where they are in great touch with the Lord and do not prioritize the material things but take them as a blessing from God. Lastly I want to leave a world for my children where their future is planned for, a world where they know that all their dreams and wishes can be put to reality through effort and dedication.

What kind of world do I want to live in?
To risk sounding like an idealist, I would say I want to live in a world where I’m free to express myself and be who I am. A world that does not limit me to be what I want to be on the basis of my sex, age, race or religious beliefs. This world that I say I want to live in seems to be a dream not because we as the human race are incapable of building such a world but because we seem to have chosen not to respond to the human part within us. I mean we can have that world if we wanted to because after all the world’s best inventors did come from this world that we say we live in.

I want to live in a world where there is a significant difference between us humans and the animals, for the animals know no mother, respect no elder and fear no error. I want to live in a world where I can have a sense of belonging and where people know the real meaning of self-respect. A world where the girl child is not seen as an object but as a human who has an equal ability to change the world just as a boy child. Finally I want to live in a world where all impossible things can be made possible because if something is impossible it becomes a barrier to your imagined ‘happy’ future.

